How to Delete Your Google Location History

Hi, I’m Faheem Rasool and welcome to my blog SaveFreeStuff.com, a source of advice for secure and private online choices. So big shocker, Google not only tracks lots of your movements, but also stored them.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide

How to Delete Your Google Location History

So in this article, we will walk you through the simple steps of deleting your location history. This is part of a four-part series, where we give you the simple steps to take back control of your stored information.

#1: To Turn off Your Location History

First, to turn of your location history, go to Manage your Google account.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 1

On the top left menu select Data and Personalization. Under the activity control section click on Location History, and de-select the blue button.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 2

Now, confirm your selection by tapping pause. This changes the settings for all of your devices affiliated with that particular account.

There you have it.

#2: Delete Your Location History:

You’ve turned off location history. Now that you’ve paused Google from tracking you, you might want to delete your location history for good. To do so follow these simple steps.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 1

 

Go to Manage your Google Account. Then on the left menu select Data and Personalization.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 2

Now under the activity controls section click on Location History, tap Manage activity.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 3

 

Now tap on the Caldwell, which is located in the bottom right corner and select delete all location history. Tick the box, I understand and want to delete all location history.

Now click Delete Location History and you’ve washed your hands of any routes or places you’ve been to using Google Maps.

#3: Automatically Delete Your Location History

Wouldn’t it be nice if there was some way to set up automatic deletion in case you forget? Wow you’ve guessed, there’s exactly that.

To Automatically Delete your Location History from three to 36 months, follow these steps.

Go to Manage your Google Account. Now tap data and personalization, click Location History.

Delete Your Google Location History a simple step by step guide 2

Now click on Auto Delete and choose between three, 18 or 36 months. Now tap next and finally confirm your selection by clicking okay.

 

#4: The Most Effective way to Turn off Location Tracking – On Desktop

Now the thing with all these steps so far they still have some loopholes in them that will allow Google to access your location at certain times.

So how do you really turn off location tracking in the most effective way possible? If you’re on desktop here is what you should do. Access manage your Google account. Now, onto the data and personalization section on the left, click manage your activity controls. Then turn off web and app activity and location history by deselecting the blue buttons. Confirm each section by tapping pause.

 

#5: Turn off Location History on Mobile

If you’re on mobile, follow these simple steps. Open your Google App, Google Maps, or even the Gmail app.

Now tap Google Account, go to data and personalization and then tap the location history toggle to turn it off. Then select pause to confirm. Boom, no more big brother breathing down your neck anymore. There you have it. One small step for man or woman, one large step to taking back control of what information is stored where.

Now you’ve started, what’s stopping you continue in your journey of online privacy? For more how to videos click the link here to see my YouTube Channel, check out our playlist with tons of instructional videos. Don’t forget to like and subscribe for more online advice. Until next time.

You can also join us on Social Media like as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram etc. thanks for visiting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.